Thoughtful Thursday Featuring Paul Amadio, Head of School, in April

Donita Coburn-Amadio, Director of Advancement and Special Events
Each Thursday in April
5 pm PST, 6 pm MST, 7 pm CST, 8 pm EST
An hour and fifteen-minute program

Join Zoom Meeting
Meeting ID: 963 0335 1264
Passcode: 114630
We are lucky to have a Verde Valley School Head of School, Paul Amadio leading us in April's book club, featuring "This Is the Fire" by Don Lemon.
 
The host of CNN Tonight with Don Lemon is more popular than ever. As America’s only Black prime-time anchor, Lemon and his daily monologues on racism and antiracism, and on America’s systemic flaws speak for his millions of fans. Now, in an urgent, deeply personal, riveting plea, he shows us all how deep our problems lie, and what we can do to begin to fix them.
 
Beginning with a letter to one of his Black nephews, he proceeds with reporting and reflections on his slave ancestors, his upbringing in the shadows of segregation, and his adult confrontations with politicians, activists, and scholars. In doing so, Lemon offers a searing and poetic ultimatum to America. He visits the slave port where a direct ancestor was shackled and shipped to America. He recalls a slave uprising in Louisiana, just a few miles from his birthplace. And he takes us to the heart of the 2020 protests in New York City. As he writes to his young nephew: We must resist racism every single day.
 
We must resist it with love.
 
Please purchase the book from your favorite book store and even if you are unable to purchase the book - join us for great conversation and discussion!
 
Audio Version Available Online!
 
"The Fire Next Time" by James Baldwin is a recommended precursor to this month's book, but not required.
 
READING SCHEDULE FOR THIS MONTH'S BOOK
April 1: Prologue & Chapter 1
April 8: Chapters 2 & 3
April 15: Chapters 4 & 5
April 22: Chapter 6
April 29: Chapter 7 & Appendix


$10 a week suggested donation
For Professional Development of VVS Staff on Antiracism and Creating a Just and Fair Society
Back
    • Thoughtful Thursday's with Paul Amadio

Verde Valley School is a co-educational, International Baccalaureate boarding and day school for students in grades 9-12.
©2020 Verde Valley School. All Rights Reserved