Together Tuesday - Celebrate MLK Jr. and National Day of Service!

Donita Coburn-Amadio, Director of Advancement and Special Events
January 19, 2021 • 5 pm PST, 6 pm MST, 7 pm CST, 8 pm EST
 
Join the Verde Valley School Advancement/Alumni Engagement Team
to talk about Martin Luther King Jr. and our National Day of Service!

 
Join Zoom Meeting
Meeting ID: 918 1969 4076
Passcode: 303334


In celebration of Martin Luther King Jr. Day, our National Day of Service, the U.S. Presidential Inauguration and the USA's shift in leadership let's talk! Let us respectfully and peacefully discuss around the ZOOM table -where we have come and where we are going as a society.
 
Martin Luther King Jr. believed in equity and he raised his voice for social justice. He dreamed of a fair/just society through non-violence and peace. MLK spoke for every person to experience inclusion and worked tirelessly to abolish segregation. This day of remembrance and service is known as a "peoples" holiday. 
 
Let's talk about this man who gave his life in service to help create a better, more just, and fair society. Who do we count on today? Who has the peaceful backbone of Martin Luther King Jr? Where do we even start this conversation knowing that it is the conversation we must have in light of the recent happenings at The United States Capitol and the waves of reverberation that are currently threatening all people and the democracy of the U.S.? 
 
Where have we slipped backwards in our progress? Where have we improved?
 
How do we talk about a more just and fair society in light of the happenings in our country and world today?
 
How can we each take responsibility and action to create a more just and fair society now? 
 
Please bring your insights and openness to listen to others. We will do our best to start this conversation knowing we will likely leave many thoughts and feelings unspoken.
 
Your voice matters. We are Verde Valley School and we will not be on the battlefield, we will be in the classroom. 
 
Bring a glass of your favorite beverage and let's toast to free speech and peaceful discourse.
 
In best service to the best parts in each of you, Donita
 
 
Back
    • Together Tuesday_January21

Verde Valley School is a co-educational, International Baccalaureate boarding and day school for students in grades 9-12.
©2020 Verde Valley School. All Rights Reserved